• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Gas Boiler advice - lack of safety cert

stash

My son is trying to sell his house but has hit a brick wall regarding a replacement new boiler he had installed 3 yrs ago.

The problem is that he never got a Cert even though the guy was , at the time, registered with Gas Safe AND Gas Safe say the guy never registered the installation.

Gas Safe aren't being very helpful as the guy is no longer registered (wasn't thrown out might have retired) and they cannot make contact with the Engineer that did the install.

It didn't help at the time that my son was being posted to Afghanistan and wanted to make sure his wife was ok while he was away - no excuse really but guess he had other things on his mind !

What is the best way to proceed - Any help much appreciated.

I am no expert on this but I do know all gas / electrical installs done in the last few years require a certificate, can you not get a gas engineer out to check it over and certify it, granted it will cost but I do not see any other way to sell the house?

only choice is to get registered engineer to come and re certify it as safe.  Most rented property folks have to do

this every year.  Dont think its too expensive

Sheila

Thanks for the replies - your thoughts were mine initially - however it seems that if the initial installation of the boiler did't have a Cert then its not just a case of getting a new Cert - This type of thing can only be done by a "Gas Inspector" not Gas Engineer - or so the Gas safe told my son - this didn't make any sense to me - as per MOT it not worth anything as soon as you leave the forecourt (still be done for illegal items). A straight new Cert by a Gas Safe should have been  enough.

Thanks for your advice folks. :chin_scratch2:  :thumbsup: