• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Bore Da

Guest T_Tucks

Guest T_Tucks

Hi all, 

My name is Tim, I live in Swannington, North West Leicestershire. 

I'm an absolute novice, however when my children expressed an interest in the solar system a few months ago, I became somewhat obsessed and began researching. I bought them a Celestron NexStar 4SE for christmas and am infuriatingly restrained in what I can see.

To that end, I have lined up a nice used CPC 1100 which I hope to pick up this week. 

My priority is to explore the solar system with the kids, though I do have a decent DSLR and would love to explore DSO photography for myself (wedge shall of course be the next expenditure). 

Any pointers greatly appreciated.

Tim

Welcome to EMS Tim.

Great that your children are inspired and have obviously got you interested.

You've certainly taken a big leap in scope size.

You will get lots of help from EMS members.

Hi Tim , a warm welcome to EMS.

Strewth, nothing like jumping in with both feet eh. On the positive side the CPC1100 will definitely show you the solar system, and do it well. I am assuming you already know something about astronomy, if not then optics, as it seems a bit of good luck if you just pinned the tail on the CPC.

To be fair, the 4SE isn't a bad little scope, and would give you at least a half decent view of the Planets, and certainly nice views of the Moon.

What you will need with this is dew control, certainly a dew shield, and more than likely some form of dew heating on the front corrector plate. These scopes need a good while to cool down to ambient temperature, and if you don't have dew control, your night could be over before you even start.