• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Help

Guest Steveohim

Guest Steveohim

I've just borrowed a celetron astromaster 130eq md to see if I like it before I buy one, I'm brand new to stargazing and know absolutely nothing, I've also got a set of lenses, the £50 one from amazon, trouble is I can see a damn thing, I don't know what lens to put in, I was looking for Mars when I found it for a brief second but it doesn't resemble a planet, it's just a bright light, also when looking through the telescope the is a projection of the cross thing with the circle in the middle at the front on the image, why's that?

Guest Steveohim

Yes but I don't even know what lenses I should be using, I can only find videos that show you how to set up the telescope, not actually use it

Hi Steve, The best thing to do is get to know your scope in daylight, learn how to set it up and get to find your way round it, so when you are out in the dark you know where all the bits are. This saves you struggling and getting frustrated. Give us an idea of the lens, or eyepiece you have purchased so we can help you out.

Gary is right, have a look round for video's to show you how to set up and align the mount and scope. There is sometimes a difference between reality and what the instructions say, and sometimes a shortcut or tip that helps getting going.

These are good scopes and will show some great objects, once you have got the hang of it you'll wonder what all the fuss was about, we have all been there.

When you say lenses, do you mean eyepieces? These are what you stick in the focuser and look through.

Guest zidder

Yes but I don't even know what lenses I should be using, I can only find videos that show you how to set up the telescope, not actually use it