• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Finally - First light on my 12" newt build

Rusty Strings

At last (even I wondered if I'd post this) the scope I've been building for 6 years saw proper first light last night. Ok so, not especially dark and saturn was particularly poor due to low altitude but, Alberio and M51 looked great. I still have to finish the electrics, trim the truss tubes to final length and cover them in black heat shrink, mount the wixey, fit a bubble level to the dob base plus,no doubt, lots of other piddling small things to make it user friendly in the dark.

I can't believe it has taken so long but better late then never.

pics to follow......

Edited by Rusty Strings
  • Like 3

I thought you had forgotten about this project, or should I say I had forgotten about it  :lol:

Can't wait to see the pics.

It's a real sense of achievement building it yourself, well done John.

I couldn't spend as much time on it as I would've liked plus a few design dead ends that required rethinking such as an Obsession style secondary assembly that was too heavy so I went for a single ring that means only a modest counterweight for lighter eyepieces.

Sounds terrific John - well done and looking forward to seeing it. :)

6yrs is about how long I've been doing astronomy - I remember when you first talked about your scope build lol.

Here you go

post-17-0-99153800-1436447434_thumb.jpg

post-17-0-74866000-1436447475_thumb.jpg

post-17-0-11263000-1436447507_thumb.jpg

post-17-0-60380800-1436447537_thumb.jpg