• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

newbie question

Guest hadden

Guest hadden

hi all.

im new to all this star gazing and i'm hoping to get my own telescope within the next few weeks(or days :) ) anyways i'm an apprentice plumber so i'm not on alot at the minute so was just wondering if there are any scopes out there in the £50-£80 range.i know its not alot but everyone has to start some where.i live in the city center so there's alot of light pollution but in my back garden its not too bad.also i spotted 2 extremely bright stars about 45 mins ago,i just checked and there still there.definatley not planes but there really bright.are these just stars that are fairly close?

Hi James, if the "stars" are over in the Westerly direction it is probably Venus and Jupiter.

Hi James

You can download "Stellarium" (free) to your PC and it will show you the night sky at your location - you'll be able to identify anything you see. It does sound like you saw Jupiter and Venus as Mark mentioned - you'll see Mars in the East quite soon as well :)

Guest Fluke

James, the really bright one on the right is Venus, and close by to the upper left is Jupiter :)

Look out for what the other guys and gals suggest, but if I had your budget I'd forget a scope for now and get yourself a good pair of binoculars instead. With no set-up time they'll help you navigate & learn the night sky that much quicker.

Just as important is a decent sky atlas so you know what you're looking at.

I've got this one recommended by the guys from here:
/>http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sky-Telescopes-Pocket-Atlas/dp/1931559317

Dan

Guest hadden

just downloaded it.thanks for that.cant believe there planets!thought old fruit was messing with me at first.shows how much i have to learn :)