• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Which scope/mount for a beginner

Guest iatm1976

Guest iatm1976

Hi everybody, a new member here asking for some guidance in the aquisition of a good entry level scope/mount.  I'm not totally new to astronomy, I've been using (for a couple of years now) a good set of 10x50 Orion binoculars to scan the sky and I'm familiarized with some constellations and stars.  I just wanna go to the next level.

I need my new scope capable for both, terrestrial and astronomical use.  I live in a high place, in a mildly light polluted area (so mainly moon and planets from here), but with a nice day view of a great landscape.  Additionaly I have easy access to some really nice dark spots where stargazing sessions will be a success.

As a beginner I'm not interested in entering the astro-photography realm from scratch, I think the best course of action would be getting a good scope with a good mount first, then enjoy doing the basics: watching, learning the sky, getting very used to it, and then, in a future start getting the complementary equipment to adapt it to photo/video use, and this means escalability.

Searching the Internet and after reading a lot, I concluded that the best type of scope which will serve both (terrestrial and astronomical) uses and will fit my budget would be a 5 or 6 inches catadioptric (MAT or SCT) as I can get more apperture than with a refractor for the same money (reflectors were discarded as they're not suited for terrestrial viewing). I'm not to fussy about if is an OTA with the mount sold separately or a mount included device, I know the first option will be more expensive but still I can evaluate it.