• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Advice on telescopes

Guest netspy7

Guest netspy7

Hi guys ive been looking at a couple of telescopes on Ebay can i have some feed back on them please as im new to this

The item numbers are

And

Thanx guys

Can you post the links to the items directly, will make them easier to find. (my phone thinks they are telephone numbers) :/

Hi guys ive been looking at a couple of telescopes on Ebay can i have some feed back on them please as im new to this

The item numbers are

And

Thanx guys

320866382949 = Celestron 130 On CG-3 EQ Mount

380415991811 = Seben Big Boss 1400-150 Reflector on "a mount" not sure which.

Is easier if you post the eBay Listing as a link in future.

I am no expert I will let the other more experienced guys advise you :)

I've heard bad things about "Big Boss" scopes, not sure where I read it now. For that kind of money you would be better to go for something from Skywatcher, the quality is apparently better than Celestron at the same price range. It all depends on what you are looking to get out of the hobby, both short term and if you have any future plans. Certainly most people seem to suggest a Dobsonian Mount as the most user friendly for a new user. They are also considerably cheaper £ per inch of appature (dia), the bigger the appature the more light you can gather meaning you see more detail.

I'd go for a skywatcher dob

I will second that ;) we are both biased though :)

I will second that ;) we are both biased though :)

I will third that as well. :)

But then I am also biased. :)

But getting a scope depends on a number of factors including what do you want to see, do you want to do astrophotography, do you want a scope that will track, how much do you want to spend etc etc.