• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Greetings from Melbourne (Derby, not Australia)

Guest ThinAir

Guest ThinAir

Evening All, 

Beginning my foray into amateur astronomy and thought the forums would be a great place to chat to some like-minded people - I think the girlfriend (who bought me a telescope) is sick of hearing about it - so much so she bought me a telescope for Christmas so that I spend more time outside in the garden!

I got a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ for Christmas, and have added a pair of binoculars to my 'setup'. 

I've seen some cool stuff through my new telescope including some nice views of Venus last night!

Been interested in space and physics for a while, so this seems like a logical step. Doing lots of reading about astronomy when it's too cloudy for me to see anything. 

I do have an issue with light pollution due to East Mid's airport being in relatively close proximity and the A42(M) in the other direction doing a beltin' job of illuminating the horizon. 

I haven't gone through the process of aligning my scope on it's mount yet, I have watched some video's telling me how to do this, but I just haven't had the time - what I have seen has been the result of sheer blind-luck and perseverance!

Outside of this hobby, I am a music teacher, play the trombone and the piano and have a mild (quite severe) obsession with Jazz and House music. 

Looking forward to chatting with some of you guys :)

Peace Out. 

ThinAir

(Chris)

Welcome to EMS Chris.

Glad you are enjoying your new scope. You have come to the right place, ask questions and you are sure to get lots of help here. :thumbsup:

Hi Chris and a warm welcome to EMS. :)