• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello there!

Shane04

Hey everyone. 

Asked on Facebook about meets and the sort and was sent here. 

I'm an absolute beginner at all this so I really am sorry if I ask stupid questions. O used to have a telescope when I was a lot younger but nothing too serious. Argos special I think. 

It's my birthday soon, and I was thinking of getting a more serious scope. I have no idea what I want it to do let alone what I want to do with it. Any advice is gladly received. 

My budget is £150-200 mark. I was thinking this budget (whilst it may seem low, is actually quite a big chunk)  I'll have to go second hand. 

Anyway. Hopefully see some of you at the next meet.

Thanks. 

Hi Shane, me again (I was the chap trying to help on Facebook).

Glad you found us, check out the meets section for dates and info ETC.

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the forum.

scope really depends on what you want to do?  Visual astronomy or imaging.   Would suggest visual to start with as the imaging lark is quite expensive.  I should know my credit cards groan a lot and die a terrible death  ?

most visual folks start with a dob  (dobsonian)  i will have to let better folks than me advise on that sort of scope.  As an imager I

dont know a lot about it.  Someone will be along to advise.

But welcome to the asylum of EMS ?  Nice to have you join us

Hi Shane. Welcome to EMS! Lots of advice to be had here. The best thing is to attend one of our meets and have a gander. Scope-wise, a 6 inch dobsonian maybe a good idea. But sometimes a half decent pair of binoculars may be an idea until you have an idea what you want out of this amazing (and potentially costly) hobby. 

6 inch dobsonian price and info

Edited by newtyng5

Hi Shane, a warm welcome to the forum.