• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Evening everyone

Barry Gowans

Hello all,

I’m a new member and came across this site while looking for a decent observing location to try out my new scope and binoculars.    You all seemed like a friendly bunch so I signed up. 

If anyone is going to either dark site tomorrow, 3rd Jan, I’d be interested in tagging along. I’m fairly new to Astronomy as a hobby so any guidance would be very welcome.

Anyway - hope to meet you all over the coming months. 

Barry

Thanks ?

As I’m a beginner I went for the Skywatcher Explorer 130p Newtonian reflector (based on some advice from a friend). I quickly realised I’d have been better starting with a set of binoculars so I got a pair of Celestron 15x70s which seem good so far. To the untrained eye anyway. 

Desperate to try them out outside the town centre though ?

Your scope and bins will show you a lot from a dark site. ?

I have the Celestron 15x70s and they are great performers for the price. I can handle 15x70s fine without a tripod, but find them much steadier if I lean against a wall.

Some planetariun software like Stellarium or Skysafari would be a great free download if you don't already have it.

Hi Barry and welcome to EMS ?

I too have the 15x70's and they are smashing on a tripod (spot heavy on the arms for prolonged use unaided). I've had some nice views of Andromeda galaxy with mine on a clear night. Nothing wrong with a 130P either - doesn't go as deep as larger diameter scopes but has a fair sized repertoire and can take some nice pics if you ever get into astro photography.

Hope to meet you at an observing session soon ?

Hi Barry,

Welcome to EMS

I'm Rob, hope to meet you sometime at a future session.

Thanks both for the warm welcome.

I did end up buying a tripod for comfort and to reduce the arm wobble ?