• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Newbie needing help!

Dangermouse

Hey people,

joined up today in hope to learn more!

firstly, I’m seeing a lot of words in which I don’t really understand, mainly when people take photos and say how they captured the image... I know about the lenses etc but it’s the other words people add in. 

Ive got a Bresser Skylux 70/700, not sure if it’s just me but I don’t think it’s too clear as I’ve been trying to see the moon but it looks just like seeing it from the naked eye, although I didn’t use the Barlow x3 lens (maybe that’s why). 

Just after advice really really on how to see objects etc and how to get the best image. Also which lens is best to use. 

The bigger mm mom means less magnified right? 

As i said... I’m a complete newbie here. Go easy!

Hi Scott, welcome to the forum. That's an ok scope to start with and should give you some good views of the moon and planets. You may get some red and blue fringing on brighter objects and is to be expected with this scope, it's called Chromatic aberration. Some people don't mind it, personally I can't stand it. Was it yourself I commented on on Facebook,  uk astronomy about this?

You are correct that the higher the number of the eye piece the lower the mag. That barlow might be a bit much mag for the scope. I assume you have a 25 and a 10 mm eyepiece. So mag is focal length divided by the eyepiece. So for you 700 ÷ 10 = x70mag. The x3 barlow would give you x210 with the 10mm which might be just about doable. 

Have you come across Stellarium? If not it's a free planetarium software for pc which is great for locating stuff. Personally I use skysafari 6 plus app on my phone, not cheap but very good.