• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Another hello. Hi from Derbyshire

VinceN

Hello all,

A brief intro. Hope it's not too cheeky to say that I have "cut&paste" most of  this from my introduction on the main SGL forum. ☺️

I'm from West Hallam, Derbyshire. In my 50's.

I'm a complete novice to all things astronomical, although always had an interest since being young.

Interested in photography, generally.

Now been bitten by the astrophotography bug "big time"

Probably made the classic newbie mistake,  jumped straight in and bought a 2nd hand telescope & mount.

A Skywatcher 200P & EQ5 mount. 

It's a little bit "used and battered".

It needs a little bit of T.L.C. and  I think that I am going to need some advice about some repairs on the mount fairly soon.

Some time in the past one of its previous owners has removed the front bracket & T-screw for the front altitude adjuster.  Not a wise move in this newbie's opinion ☺️

With my lack of experience, I have managed to bend the rear altitude adjusting screw.

I have removed the bent screw, but unfortunately this has part stripped the thread.  Any advice about any local mount repairers in the Derbyshire area would be most welcome.

But, I love the old thing already.

Had so much fun already with the scope and playing with Stellarium to see where things are up there, and also some very modest success with images of moon.   

Have managed to catch a very small image, but definitely was, of Jupiter and the moons on a very clear night.

That really was a buzz. I didn't get to sleep until about 3.00 am and on a work day, wow.

I've never noticed how few clear nights we get here in Derbyshire. We have had precious few of those since I bought my scope.

Now have so many questions about this fantastic hobby.