• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

This has got to be my best Luna ever.

Graham

Hi folks.

I have just got to share this one with you.

After a night of frustration trying to capture M91 with non stop clouds and grief with the guiding as a result I finally gave up.

So I started playing with Back Yard and discovered that you can change the shutter speed.

I know I know thick or what but forgive me I thought it was just for Bulb setting.

Any way I swung the scope round on to the moon and started playing with shutter speeds and ISO settings to see what they did.

I was amazed as I have never tried taking photos of anything other than DSO's with the Canon 350 D.

I ended up selecting the best 44 jpeg's of various ISO and shutter speeds and blending them together in Registax.

The final result is the most incredible photo I have ever produced.

It is a Tif photo and it is absolutely huge coming in at 45.5 MB.

I have done a conversion to a jpeg photo to upload here.

I will try to upload the full sized version to photobucket and put a link back to here.

I think I am going to love this DSLR game.

Thanks

Graham

Its no good cannot upload the tif its just to big.

Edited by Astrotec Limited

Thanks folks.

I have been having a play with this in Picassa to adjust the contrast a bit.

Nice job Graham.

Had another go at the Bubble nebula but simply couldn't get a run going because of the clouds. Also EQMOD/CdC wouldn't play together for a while.

I only completed 5x2 minute subs with darks after numerous cloud roll-ins but there's not much data to process tbh. I imagine 5 minute subs would be the minimum for this target?

Did a quick RAW session on the moon before hitting the sack at 0600! The clouds disappeared then!!

Regards.

Hi Paul

I would love to have a go at that, trouble is I can never find it.