• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Complete Newbie from Notts

SiobhanMH

Hi all!

I'm pretty new to all the stuff, I got my first 'proper' telescope this christmas (skywatcher 150p dob) and I've been having a great time with it. There's quite a bit of light pollution where I live but I've still managed to get some nice views of brighter objects - certainly better than my shaky hands and binoculars!!

Attended a Nottingham Astronomical Society meeting in December (great talk by Prof Lucie Green!), but haven't been able to go to another one since. I'm looking forward to the next one, I'll most likely be registering as a member.

I think I'd maybe like to learn about astrophotography further down the line, but for the time being I'm enjoying just observing and getting more familiar with the sky. All seems very complicated, I'm having a great time exploring and hopping between objects. Taking a few pictures of the moon with the scope and an iPhone has impressed my family though!!

Any one got any advice for things I should invest in? At the minute I've got the two eyepieces it came with (10 & 25mm) and a cheap 2x barlow, do I need to get any more bits or should they be good enough for a while?

I've seen people online making adjustments to the mount to make movements more smooth, might take a stab at something like that. 

This has gotten a bit long, oops! Looking forward to meeting people 

- Siobhan

• Like 1

Welcome to the forum  Siobhan, You've come to the right place for information and help.

Quite a lot of folk on here use Dobs and have modified them in different ways.

As far as gear goes a Telrad red light finder (Check it out on First Light Optics website) 

and an eyepiece upgrade would be my first thoughts but others may offer better suggestions.

Good luck

Ron

Hi Siobhan and welcome!