• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Good evening, all

CTGB

Hello,

Hope you're all safe and well.

Complete novice here based in South West Leicestershire.  Always been interested in the night sky but never really pursued my curiosity enough for my liking.  Looking to learn and see a bit more with like minded people.

Speak soon

Chris 

Hi and welcome Chris,

I'm pretty new to the group too although I've been doing astronomy for years. There are a lot of knowledgeable people on this site and they are really friendly and helpful so if you have any questions I'm sure someone will be able to help 🙂

Dave 

Hi RonC,

Thank you, hope all is well.

No equipment yet; i've been trying to do some research, which, for a beginner, is an absolute minefield - I THINK, i'm going to start with a pair of binoculars and I have read some decent reviews of a Nikon Action ex 10x50...not sure if you're familiar with this and have any input?

I have a Huawei P30 Pro phone, which takes a pretty mean night time shot of the sky for a phone!

Cheers

Hi Chris and welcome on board. 🙂

A good pair of 10x50 binocs is a great start.

Hi Chris, a warm welcome to the forum.

Have a good mooch round and make yourself at home. As mentioned, feel free to ask questions, someone might know the answer.

Enjoy your stay.