• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

A different question about eyepieces

Cazz

I'm asking this question in the beginners area, because a) I'm still a beginner, b ) it's probably a stupid question and this thread says nothing is stupid, c) I don't want to lower the tone of the eye piece thread.

So here goes, Is it possible, if so, how do I work out the size in mm of our spotting scope eye piece marked in X's. The eye piece is from a 60mm spotting scope I believe, and it's marked from 15X to 45X.

I'm guessing it works out at something like 7mm to 21mm, but this is more of a pot luck guess than any calculation, is there a formula or table showing the comparisons anywhere please? Many thanks for any pointers.

Edited by Cazz

If I understand correctly you are after the mm size of you ep, is that correct?

To find out the magnification of your ep's you normally divide the focal length of the scope by the focal length of the ep.

so 60/4=15x zoom, so one ep is 4mm and applying the same to the 45x would give a mm of 1.3.

So 15x ---> 45x = 4mm --->1.3mm.

Have I got that right, seems a bit odd to me?

Edited by Daz type-r

Hi Cazz, not a stupid question at all. To find out the magnification of an eyepiece you devide the focal length of the scope by the focal length of the eyepiece and the answer gives you the magnification.

It works the same with the focal length of the scope devided by the magnification and the answer gives you the focal length of the eyepiece.

Hope this helps.

If I understand correctly you are after the mm size of you ep, is that correct?

That's correct. :)

Nice, then my answer stands, also, oldfruit confirms what I thought, your ep is a 1.3mm ----> 4mm.