• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

When to buy?

Darren Ball

Hi all,

I'm new to these waters, and am looking for a bit of advise if I may?

I'm looking at purchasing a new mount.  The one that I'm looking at (that is in stock at the moment) is slightly overpriced compared to other online retailers who are out of stock for the same model.

So, do I buy the one that's available now at the slightly higher price, or wait until new stock arrives from China in November/December/2021? 

However, if I wait, because of everything else that's going on in the world, am I running the risk of having to buy at a higher price than now anyway?

I know that no-one can predict the future, but was just wondering what your thoughts were?

Cheers,

Darren

Edited by Darren Ball
Clarity

if you wait till November/December you will miss out getting everything sorted and working etc during september/october, nights are drawing in.  I suppose it depends on how big the price difference is.  You could try contacting the supplier and telling them their price is higher and you are ready to order, they might come back with a lower price?

It will be a gamble that when the others get stock in their price may well ride too.

What mount are you looking at and what retailer, and do they actually have physical stock , ring and enquire

1 hour ago, Sheila said:

if you wait till November/December you will miss out getting everything sorted and working etc during september/october, nights are drawing in.  I suppose it depends on how big the price difference is.  You could try contacting the supplier and telling them their price is higher and you are ready to order, they might come back with a lower price?

It will be a gamble that when the others get stock in their price may well ride too.