• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Canon 60Da?

Sheila

When I finally get the scope sorted and learn what I am doing would like to do imaging. I am a fair normal photographer but the astro stuff seems somewhat more complicated!

I am used to Canon DSLR's and was looking at the new 60Da, is this Ok or am I going in the wrong direction because I know Canon's?

Sheila

Canon DSLR's are fine - they are the most popular amongst astronomers and have the most availability of astro bits like connectors and adaptors, filters, etc. Here's a taster of what's involved and some good info on imaging with Canon cameras:

http://www.astronomiser.co.uk/helpcanon.htm

You'll probably not even get half way through - I didn't first time round but I keep going back to it every time I need basic info. :)

If your going for the 60Da it's already optimised for astrophotography so there is no need to get it modified. But if you buy the likes of a standard model 450d like mine it performs better when modified for Astro but you need to use a filter to still be able to use it for normal photography. Likewise if you buy the 60Da it would need a filter for normal photography

Edited by Teslar

If your going for the 60Da it's already optimised for astrophotography so there is no need to get it modified. But if you buy the likes of a standard model 450d like mine it performs better when modified for Astro but you need to use a filter to still be able to use it for normal photography. Likewise if you buy the 60Da it would need a filter for normal photography

I already have a 40d and a 50d so do not need to bother about normal photography as I am all set. What I did not know was whether to try and stretch to the 60da as it is already optimsed for astro (the price is a bit ouch!!!) or do something with one a the caneras I already have?