• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

ZWO asi120mc camera

Paul Tomo

I’ve just bought a new ZWO asi120mc camera for my new adventure into astrophotography I have never used anything like this before or seen anyone use one so this makes me a total novice. The telescope I’m using is the Skywatcher 200p and the eye pieces that I use are the Hyperion 17mm and 8mm eye pieces.

how do I connect the camera to the telescope or do I connect the camera to the eye piece? Do I need to buy any other items other than what I have now to use the camera?.

What software do I need to download in order for me to see and photograph what I’m seeing?.

Thank you for your help...Paul 

Connect dirrectly to the scope .

A barlow for planets.

Firecapture or Sharpcap for capture.

Sharpcap can do a live stack as you go which I have used  for deep sky.

Some sort of image processing.

Affinity is gentting popular as it is much cheaper than Photoshop.

If you are doing planetary you will want something like Autostakkert for stacking(I have gone back to AS2.6)

and a load of patience and visits to you tube for "how to" vids.

8 minutes ago, Ibbo said:

Connect dirrectly to the scope .

A barlow for planets.

Firecapture or Sharpcap for capture.

Sharpcap can do a live stack as you go which I have used  for deep sky.

Some sort of image processing.

Affinity is gentting popular as it is much cheaper than Photoshop.

If you are doing planetary you will want something like Autostakkert for stacking(I have gone back to AS2.6)

and a load of patience and visits to you tube for "how to" vids.

Are Firecapture or Sharpcap downloads from Google? What is ASICAP

Edited by Paul Tomo

Yes do a google search for them.

ASIcap will be the manufaturers included capture software, I have not used it as they tend to be good at producing cameras but not software.