• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi from Doncaster but soon to be Derbyshire!

Guest slammer74

Guest slammer74

Morning!!

I'm never sure how to do these greetings / intros!!

Anyway I'm Stuart :)

I'm totally new to astronomy and was looking for a few pointers and info off like minded people. As you can see by the title i currently live in doncaster but will be moving to derbyshire in the next couple of months (fingers crossed!)

I recently..well in the last 18 months bought a telescope for my daughter to look at the moon in some sort of detail as she is amazed by the stars and moon.....I didn't realise there was that much up there in the sky and now find myself addicted to it.

I'm not a millionaire so telescope i bought was a cheapish one which does what it says on the tin.....

Celestron Astromaster 130eq - i later added a little motor drive to it.

with a selection of lenses - 10mm, 20mm, 4mm, and a 2x barlow lens and a moon filter.

My skills with this telescope are very hit n miss..bit like the british weather....i have managed to view the moon! oh and by luck rather than judgement i did get to see jupiter and its moons in my scope which totally blew my mind and made me more determined to give astronomy a go!

so guys n gals i am looking for some help and pointers on how to get the best out of my new hobby!! Plus having a good laugh with like minded people on here!! :D

cheers and hope to speak to you all soon!

Stu

Hi Stuart, a warm welcome to EMS.

The 130 is a good starter scope, which looks like it's earned it's keep with the views it's already provided you.

Where abouts in Derbys might you be landing? You are always welcome to come to one of the meets and have a look through whats on offer.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask away, someone will be along to answer them.

Enjoy the forum.

Stu,