• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Still learning (after 10 years!)

RonC

Well I'm still learning after 10 years!  Read an article about long exposures with a 183c CMos camera and the emphasis was on the Dark frames taken.

So last night (in a brief clear sky!) I did some 300s Darks with everything covered then tried 10 x 300s exposures at Unity gain and 24 Offset on M13.

Also got 2 x 300s on M27 before the clouds rolled in! I processed them this morning and was surprised at the result for a fan cooled cam! No sensor

glow at all and the Darks x 10 worked really well. What I did notice is that I need to do some more longer exposure Flats and Dark Flats as there

is a bit of vignetting. I will try to do them before Saturday nights forecast clear sky's! Comments welcome please..

large.M13100621_300FinishSmall.jpg.6ef2af13827f397dd71a77448cdd65fa.jpg

large.M27100521_300FinishSmall.jpg.fd519c5110c85131af221f499ceae071.jpg 

Edited by RonC

No, but using 90 - 120s exposures and I got the Flats just right for those!

Like my 294, the 183 definitely needs matching darks to ameliorate the starburst amp glow.

Dark scaling/no darks doesn't work for these sensors.

It is a never ending learning curve Ron, That is what makes this hobby so fascinating 

If the vignetting is dark around the edges, does that mean the Flats need to be a longer exposure or a shorter exposure?

I'm getting stuck with this!!

24 minutes ago, RonC said:

If the vignetting is dark around the edges, does that mean the Flats need to be a longer exposure or a shorter exposure?

I'm getting stuck with this!!

What acquisition software are you using?

Generally, I tend to go for about ⅓ total sensor saturation (so about 20500 ADU) in APT.

I am not familiar with any other software, but I'd be surprised if the same numbers don't still apply.