• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

telescope help

Guest craigymuk

Guest craigymuk

Hello i am new to all this and i am wanting to buy a scope but only have 200 quid max. I live in a flat but will mostly be using it outside thanks

Hi Craig

Welcome.

I would suggest that you pop out to the next meet and see various scopes and set ups.

You will be able to discuss options and see where your interest are.

I think a good pair of bino's is a good starting point.

Best regards

John

Hi Craig,

To get the most out of any scope you will need to use it outside ;)

£200 will buy you a half decent scope capable of seeing all the planets, alot of deep space objects such as galaxies, clusters, nebulas etc.

Question is what type?

An EQ mount or a dobsonian mount.

If you are not interested in photography go for a dobsonian, if you have an interest in photographing what you see go for an EQ, but then £200 will buy you a much better Dobsonian then an EQ type telescope.

Have a look at these:

http://www.firstligh...plorer-130.html

http://www.firstligh...-dobsonian.html

Ahhh, I see you want to go down the "dark art" route of astrophotography?

That I'm afraid takes time, patients and cash!

The trouble with astrophotography is that you need a decent scope to gather the light, then you need an equatorial mount to track the object you want to capture, then you need a webcam/ccd/dslr camera, plus a pc/laptop to run the software, then battery's and cables to power it if you can't get to a power socket and all this adds up to hundreds if not thousands of pounds.

Please don't think I am trying to put you off, I just wanted to give you a heads up into the sort of prices you will need to spend to get decent pictures.

I my self don't want to do astrophotography due to the price and the amount of time it takes, I much prefer visual.