• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New Member- Newark

Aly_91x

Hi All! 

New member here and I have recently got into Astrophotography and I have a Skywatcher scope. I have just moved to Newark and I was wondering if there are any local meets in and around the area? Would love to meet other people who share the same interest! I am very New to all of this. 

- Alysha :) 

Hi there Alysha : a warm welcome to EMS.

We have a few on here that live in those parts.

The nearest place to you where we meet up is our 'darksite' at Wymeswold, but its a 33mile journey so a bit of a trek i'm afraid.

Good luck with your new astrophotography hobby 🙂🔭

Hello :) 

Thank you for welcoming me. Luckily I drive so I dont mind travelling. Sadly living in a town centre I am used to travelling to get away from light pollution. 

Hi Alysha, a warm welcome to the group. As Rob said, Wymeswold would be the closest. Even though it's a good distance, with the A 46 running most of the way it probably wouldn't take long to reach it. Maybe some of the more experienced imagers could give you pointers for taking images in town, though it is getting more difficult with all the varied light poluttion.

Have a look round and make yourself at home.

Hi Alysha, I also live in Newark and do astrophotography!

I go to some of the meets we have at Wymeswold which is only 25-30 mins from Newark down the A46.

I'm on the SW side of town (Hawton), I get some skyglow from the town (NE) and a bit from the East (Cement works)

but not too bad. I use a Triband filter if it's too bad (with an added Moon!) but generally just a Skyglow filter.

Welcome to EMS

Ron

Hi all, thank you for the warm welcome. Like you have said with the A46 it is easily accessible.