• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi from Ripley

Guest Ben_Bexson

Guest Ben_Bexson

Hi everyone I'm Ben from Ripley and heard about your forum from Craig Booth.

I am a total newbie when it comes to astronomy but it has always been something that has interested me.

As a keen photographer my eventual aim is to kit myself out for astrophotography.

I look forward to meeting you all. Cheers Ben.

Guest Ben_Bexson

Hi Ben,

Warm welcome to EMS, looks like you have some serious photographic kit there.

Best Regards

Damian

Cheers its only a 500d. and a 100-400m F4.5-5.6L so kind of mid range really.

Hi Ben,

Welcome to EMS :) with that camera and lens all you'd really need is a motor drive mount and youd be able to get some nice shots, but i'll let others shed light on that as im still a novice when it comes to astrophotography

Hi Ben and a warm welcome to EMS :)

You're very welcome to join us for an observing session to have a look at (and through) some scopes and equipment - I'd totally recommend that cos choosing a setup can be a nightmare - especially if you're totally new to astronomy. Hope to see you there soon :)

Hi Ben, a warm welcome to EMS.

Firstly, get a pair of binoculars, they are great to get you going, and start learning your way round the sky. It's a good time of year to do this, as there are some good objects about.

I would also recommend the Sky and Telescope Pocket Star Atlas. A very good atlas with loads of info, plasticized pages, and at a reasonable cost.

http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/book/9781931559317?redirected=true&gclid=COXxmZCFkrMCFYXMtAodCUYAvg

As Kim mentioned, you would be very welcome to come visit one of our dark sites, and see what you think. The first visit is free, and if you wish to join, then the subscription is a reasonable £20 a year. This pays for the rent of the two sites.