• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hello from Ashby

Guest Indispensable Hobbes

Evening all. I'm Jen, I'm living in Ashby and I'm very new to this.

I'm viewing through 8x42 Opticron Imagic bins, though after what I've seen through these I really want some 15x70 cos I've been bitten by a bug!

I've managed to see the Andromeda Galexy (white fuzzy), and I've just had a squizz at Orion and think I sort of saw a glimps of the Great Nebula (through hazy cloud and smoke remnants). Jupiter lovely as ever with a couple of moons. Caught a couple of meteors last night as well.

:D

Hi Jen and a warm welcome to EMS :)

Glad you made it here - keep your eyes on the "EMS Meets" thread in "Info and Announcements" board for the next meeting. You'd be most welcome to join us and have a look at (and through) a few telescopes. We pride ourselves on helping beginners - do bring your binocs too and the folks will show you a few good binocs objects.

We have two dark sites at Sawley and Belper where we meet mostly at weekends, and at Belper we have use of a cricket pavillion where we do quarterly talks on various aspects of astronomy. If you have any questions do start a thread in the Beginners Section and someone will be along with and answer soon. Meantime enjoy the forum and hope we see you soon :)

I'm quite good at saving money but better at spending it :D Though it cant be any worse than having to have an emergency upgrade to a 200ltr fishtank cos my fancy goldfish decided to spawn earlier this year. Haha.

I'd love to get to a gathering, the logistics would have to be worked out as I dont drive.