• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New planetary camera?

Guest paul j

Morning all.I'm looking into a new planetary camera my Toucam pro past it.I'm a total novice when it comes to imaging planets such as Jupiter.my toucam not up to the standards I want to achieve.can anyone recommend one for me? also if I wanted to image Jupiter and in my photos it would show the bands in colour a mono Camera wouldn't Do that right? would I need buy a colour Camera or filters?I would like flea3 Camera but it's pricey and I probably be better of starting out on something cheaper I just haven't a clue which one.

Hey Paul,

Dunno if you have seen Altair Astros new planetary offering? Looking at website and the pictures taken with it-looks stunning :) Link below.

http://www.eastmidlandsstargazers.org.uk/index.php?/topic/2908-New-range-of-autoguiding-and-planetary-imaging-astro-video-cameras

Edited by catman161

Thanks felix yeah they look great and the price aint bad either,im gonna have to talk to the wife,looks like i making dinner today:-) i give altair a ring tomo and ask few more questions as im a complete novice when it comes to imaging using a web cam and i probably need it explaining in simple terms.many thanks i think im sold on the £339.50 one

No probs :) I was sorely tempted myself but I have an SPC900 myself and have only attempted to use it twice (the second time being last night!) and I remembered why. It's because I do not have enough inward focuser travel to achieve focus. So I either need to get a x2 powermate or an Orion/antares self centering adapter with the prices being (respectfully) £100-185 s/h and £33 new I think I may opt for the Orion adapter. However the powermate would give me more detailed images. What to do,what to do!