• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

prinz telescopes

Guest mark59

Hi

I'm new to astronomy & have just inherited a prinz 440 telescope. My very first telescope!

But on inspection, I have found a brown blemish in the centre of the lens at the front. It is made up of 2 lens stuck together & the blemish sandwiched between the 2 lenses.

Can anyone advise me what to do?

many thanks

mark

Sounds like mould. I'm not too familure with these though I heard they were sold by dixons in the 70's so it probably quite old. It may be possible to strip it down and clean the lenses but you'd have to be extremely careful and read up on the best method and materials for cleaning them. Most likely Baader cleaning fluid and Baader cloth would do the job but do not use anything else at the risk of doing more damage. Also mark the outside of the tube and the edge of each lens to try and ensure you get the same alignment when you re assemble. I've never had one if these in bits so can't advise you on the detail. But sounds like its your only hope of resurrecting this scope and hope that any coatings to the lenses is unaffected from what I've heard tube should be marked with circle T or circle K I believe the T were the better lenses. When I was a lot younger a friend had one of these ;)

Edited by Teslar

Hi Tom

Thanks for your reply. There is no obvious way in which the lenses can be separated, the blemish is between the lenses. I've read that gum arabic is/used to be used to stick lenses together?

mark

Hi Tom

Thanks for your reply. There is no obvious way in which the lenses can be separated, the blemish is between the lenses. I've read that gum arabic is/used to be used to stick lenses together?

mark

Pherhaps take it to the next Wymeswold meeting for somebody to have a look at, somebody may be able to help?