• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

First try of the Skywatcher Nirvana 28mm.

oldfruit

There have been some breaks in the clouds tonight so i thought i should try the new "beast" of an eyepiece. First impressions last, or so they say but after tonight i am a believer.

I popped the Nirvana 28mm in the 12 inch dob tonight and thought that i would have a scan around between the clouds. The double cluster was phenomenal, i kid you not! both clusters well within the field of view and so much more to view around the outside of the clusters. Whilst there is an obvious field stop on these eyepieces the wider field of view is something else.

I turned the scope to M45 and could fit the whole cluster comfortably in the fov, something i have never done before, what a lovely sight and also some hints of the nebulosity were apperent tonight.  

M42 was an obvoius choice and again i was amazed at how much aditional sky was visible around this great nebula, even the area where the running man nebula resides was well within the fov.

M1 looked like a faint smudge lost in an imense sea of stars and sky but was very easily seen.

My initial impresions of this eyepiece, limited as they have been by the cloud tonight, is that the 82 degree field of view is almost like a re-introduction to astronomy. This may sound daft but really, that is how i feel after seeing the views through this eyepiece. Everything looks different, has new perspective. I am sure that members with similar eyepieces will understand what i mean.