• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Wide field lens

dawson

Does the field of view for any given lens vary much between telescopes?

My 25mm lens which came with the scope is my widest view lens, but might view be even wider in someone else's telescope? If so, how does one know what the widest possible field of view is for any given telescope?

Skywatcher 127

Regards

James

Guest Kheldar

Depends on how many numbers you want to crunch here, and one 25mm EP is not the same as another 25mm EP ... factors to consider are FOV of the EP itself, magnification and focal length of the scope which in turn alter the true FOV you are seeing, then there is exit pupil of the EP and how much of that light you can actually see ... not to mention restriction on FOV based on the focuser draw tube ....

I'm no visual expert, but it's a big question I think :)

Here's a couple formula to get started

Magnification = Scope Focal Length / Eyepiece Focal Length

True FOV = Eyepiece Actual FOV / MAG

Telescope focal length = 1500 (f/11)

Mag; 1500 / 25 = 60x

Mag; 1500 / 10 = 150x

I'll have to research what the EPs FOVs are.

Thanks.

James

Will upgrading my EPs, Barlow and star diagonal make much difference to my viewing experience with my 127mm Mak-Cassegrain, or would it e much more noticeable if I had a bigger telescope? I tend to use the star diagonal all the time.

The many different makes of EPs make it all very confusing. Is there somewhere where the various EPs are ranked in some kind of order (and price) to demystify this?

THanks

James

Guest Kheldar

Will upgrading my EPs, Barlow and star diagonal make much difference to my viewing experience with my 127mm Mak-Cassegrain, or would it e much more noticeable if I had a bigger telescope? I tend to use the star diagonal all the time.