• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Shoestring guiding

Astrocookie

Hi

A couple of you asked about my cheap homebrew guiding setup.

I'm new to this lark and quickly learnt how expensive this hobby can be so scoured the interweb for information and parts that I could sneek in without the missus throwing one  :lol:

Most of the bumph is thanks to Guy Webb 

The setup consists of;

SW 50mm finder from astroboot, eyepiece removed, end chopped off and cheap barlow shell fitted.

SPC900 webcam removed from shell, fitted to plastic enclosure with GPIO board and twin usb hub (removed from shell).

Feedback to dual EQ motors via transistor array (used 8 gang array as I also fitted four LED's to the enclosure so I could see the feedback to the motors. Up,Down,Left,Right hard wired to the simple hand controller. (Not necessary but quite satisfying when fully automated there's lots of flashes) 

Software phd with Ascom drivers

Ive also made a lead up for my DSLR , Canon 300D to trigger the shutter via USB/RS232 converter.

This allows DSLR Focus to automate the capture of subs.

Ive only had it running for the first time a couple of night ago but there was something satisfying about sitting in my lounger watching the guider LED's flashing and hearing the shutter automatically clicking every minute.

I reckon all told it probably cost me around £ 80.00 and my original finder from my ED80 which I accidentally damaged the lens from in frustration trying to find focus.

Oh and DSLR focus software which I cant remember what I paid for it.

If there's anyone foolish... I mean dedicated enough to tackle something similar i will gather the information and publish it on my web space, which i'm sure I still have floating in the electronic ether somewhere!!

Cheers.

Astrocookie