• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Linking computers

dawson

Is there an easy way to somehow be able to share files between my laptop (Windows 7) and my desktop (Windows 7) via my wifi network (Virgin Media box). I don't really want to have to buy anything extra, but if that's what it needs, fair enough.

I'm not that good with computers, but can easily follow instructions if you show me a website which is slow and logical.

Thanks for any help.

James

Iam not computer literate, and don't want do anything that would cause problems.

The easiest way I found, was using a memory stick to transfer and keep files for back up. It saved the day when my desktop died.

You'd need to set up a network and a file share folder on one of the computers. It can be done independent of the virgin box and the computers talk direct to each other via wifi. I did this once many years ago back on Win98 - it's quite simple to do at the basic level but Windows hides everything behind point and click screens, menus, buttons, and radio boxes making it ridiculously difficult to do.

I'll be jiggered if I can talk you through it - largely because I hate Windows - but yes it can be done. I use a router now so everything gets hard wired including the Virgin modem out to the internet - much simpler imho. Maybe Damian can help out. :)

Thanks Felix. I should hve said the desktop is hard wired to the router, and has no wifi card (I don't think).

But now I see the sort of search terms I need, I'll look for advice on that option, thank you :)

James

"Home group". It seems to be done! That was remarkably easy. I just need to figure out how to somehow back it up now so I don't accidentally delete a file in one location and delete it in both.

Thanks all.

James