• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Meade Brand

Guest MoonMan

Guest MoonMan

Hi guys, 

Im looking into stepping up my hardware due to wanting great shots.  Has anyone on the boards have experience of Meade as a brand? Reliable? Robust?

Models im looking into are the LX600, LS, LT

I have very little experience with meade personally but from what I have heard, the optics are very good but the electrics are a bit iffy. Also apparently the after sales customer service in the uk is not the best.

But that is just what I've heard. I'm sure someone with first hand experience will be along soon with more useful information.

Meade

Optics are brilliant

Electronics especially on the earlier models was poor to say the least.

After sales service is non exsistant.

I had a Meade ETX 80, the optics were pin sharp, across the whole view. The GoTo was agricultural, and broke, and I only got it going with second hand bits. This was really bad, with poor quality die cast metal parts that were not up to the job.

I can't comment on the after sales service, as I have never called on it.

In saying that, I now have a Meade AR127, and that is of reasonable build quality, and delivers great views.

No personal experience with Meade electrics and service - but I've heard all the above. I have looked through a couple of Meade Scts and the optics are superb - just got the edge on Celestron imho. I also know two Meade scope engineers who swear by their electronics - but then they are a tad biased. :)

Mike at Derby & District Astronomical Society has Meade equipment and he sings his praises of the kit. He frequents this board as Magellan Boy.

You could drop him a PM. :)