• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Vixen VMC 200L

dawson

Does anyone have any experience or comments about this 8" scope:

http://www.vixenoptics.com/reflectors/vmc200l.htm

A second hand one has been offered to me. I was going to be looking for a 180mm mak-cassegrain eventually as i am currently interested in solar system objects, but this looks appealing; shorter focal length than the mak, but much lighter in weight and slighly larger aperture.

Any thoughts?

James

Is it OTA only or does it come with a mount and tripod? I've no experience of it but on paper it looks very good. Have you any pics or a link to pics or advert?

It's just the OTA and some bits, no tripod or mount so that would need to be factored into the equation.

It's not advertised, someone approached me following a wanted request i put on ASB.

I'll get some pictures of it.

It appeals as it would give me more scope to look at DSOs.

But as you say, i'd need to get a mount for it, unless Graham can help me modify my current one :)

James

The mount is the most important thing James and it is primarily a planetary scope - so factor in a reducer as well if you intend to view/image dso's. But beware it won't have as wide a field as most dso scopes - though the aperture is good for gathering faint light. :)

I'd want at very least an HEQ5 Pro or CG5GT Goto.

It does include:

OTA,9x50 finder

Vixen 2" and 1.25 " adapters

dedicated Vixen 0.6 x photographic reducer and T adapter

60mm extension

Vixen fit Baader 2" clicklock adapter

Would it require much care in terms of collimation? I know nothing about "Mak-Newts".

Part of me thinks it is mid way between a really long focal length good for planetary stuff, and a much faster scope for DSO stuff; and as such might not be ideal for one or the other, just middle of the road.

James