• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Greetings from Derby

Guest endure

Guest endure

Hi folks. Joined yesterday. I'm a total noob. I don't have any kit (or any clue!) at the moment. Hope to learn more as I go along. Does anyone here take any educational courses on astronomy at all?

Edited by endure

Hi Richard,

You could not have come to a better place! There's loads of experience and advice here, so feel free to ask away.

Your best bet is to get to one of our meets to have a look at the kit on offer. You'll find folks are only too happy to show you their kit and let you have a look through. :)

We have a meet on 12th April coming up, which could be an ideal introduction. Check here: http://www.eastmidlandsstargazers.org.uk/topic/4419-april-12th-dark-site-meeting-at-wymeswold/?p=49260

Those who like us and decide to use our dark sites more often contribute to the costs at £20 each per year. The forum though, is and always will be... free! :D

Welcome to EMS!

Guest Tweedledum

Hi Richard,

Warm welcome to EMS. Not having any kit!, you have the mark one eyeball, first get a couple of books 'turn left at orion' and 'sky & telescope pocket star atlas' these will give you an idea of what is in the sky and where to find them, a pair of bino's is always a good start. And download a planetarium program, Stellarium is great and free, can be found here :--- http://www.stellarium.org/  ...

Hi Richard, a warm welcome to EMS.

You would be welcome to come and join us at the next meet, any questions you have could be answered, and if it's clear, you can have a look through some scopes.

Look forward to bumping into you soon.

Enjoy the forum. :)

Hello and welcome. We are all learning, some of us (me and you) are at the bottom of the learning curve, others are at the top.