• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Subs with a DSLR .. quantity or exposure ?

Graham

This one has been bugging me for a while now using my 350 D.

Is it better to have 30 x 2 min subs per hour or 12 x 5 min subs per hour.

With the shorter subs you benefit from less noise and less guiding errors.

Short subs give you more subs with which you can stack out errors.

The longer subs give a greater chance to gather those elusive photons.

So good people your opinions and ideas on this subject are called for.

Quantity or Exposure.

I'm no imaging expert but from what I've read and heard around I think it's a good idea to have a combination of both. It depends on the target but using M42 as as an example, I imagine shorter subs would catch the trapezium and miss a lot of the nebulosiity, and the long subs would grab the nebulosity but over expose the trapezium. Then use software to combine and layer the bits you want to keep......

I think that's the principle used to get the core of M31 and the dust lanes into one picture - it's also how they get Jupiter and it's moons into a picture - but do check with someone like Pete Shah or Olly Penrice for better details of how to do it. :)

Hi Kim.

Your points on the likes of M42 and M31 are totally valid and is in fact the normal method used for a very bright target.

I think I need to clarify my question.

I am asking the question in direct relation to Nebula's or faint Galaxies.

Short subs = lower signal, limited noise.

Averaging inproves signal to nosie ratio by averaging down the noise.

Long subs = more signal, more nosie.

Averaging 'more' subs can get the noise back down to the level of short subs, with more signal.

Hence better signal to noise.