• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Celestron C8 SGT

Guest johnrsvr

Welcome to EMS :)

I can't give any advice on scopes as i'm pretty new to this, but if it's your first scope I suggest posting what exactly your after and they rest of the guys(and girls) will give advice on a scope suited to what your after.

hi John and welcome to the forum,

a C8 SCT on a cg5gt mount, is a very nice first scope, much the same as my set up here,

http://www.eastmidlandsstargazers.co.uk/gallery/image/152-scope-mount/

i have the Nexstar model orange scope but they are the same in all but colour, i also had the cg5 gt mount which is a good mount and works well but i found it alittle louder when moving from one object to another quickly, so i bought a Skywatcher HEQ5 which i`m very pleased with. at lower slew speeds the Celestron mount has little to no noise at all.

the scopes are good all rounder scopes, good for planets being F10 and for deep sky stuff, i`ve had some lovely views at dark sites with mine.

these scopes can be good for imaging too.

Edited by red dwalf

I have the CPC version of this ota and it really is good. Very nicely figured optics, solid construction, and as Rob said excellent for imaging planets. Can be used for dso's imaging too with a reducer. On the EQ5 or CG5 goto it's a great combo :)

I'd try and shop about to see if you can get one now as I believe the celestron prices are set to increase in feb, or at least try to confirm a price at todays rate

Maybe check all the usual astro websites/shops in astronomy now magazine and see if they have any in stock.

Felix

Guest johnrsvr

iv looked and rang every shop in the uk with same result.lol

just received an email from Star telescopes, there next delivery is in 2 to 4 weeks.

any info about Star telescopes would be useful.