• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Polar alignment

stovesy

I'm getting ready to position some slabs for standing my eq mount on.

Ive got the mount generally pointing north, and level, but before I actually cement and fix the slabs, I want to have a go a polar aligning using the built in scope so I know that things are generally in the right place.

But

I've have no clue as to how to go about this.....

The polar scope has a graduated rotating ring as I hope the picture shows, and looking through the scope I see a trapezoid shape with a small scale (40-60) above.

All very complex.

It's an Orion LX200 scope and I've heard to Vixen word mentioned when it comes to the mounting.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

I'm no expert and still learning, but the view of your polar scope looks similar to others, in that the centre has a cross (which will represent the northern celestial pole when it's finally aligned) and there is a small open circle which you'll need to get Polaris to sit in, by altering the alt and az bolts (once the scope is levelled). The line with the circle for polaris should rotate around the cross when you rotate the scope around the RA; you'll need to have this line pointing at a specific time on an imaginary clock face for your polar alignment to work, there are various websites and free apps which tell you where the line should be pointing at the time you set up your kit (it changes continuously and eotates a full 360 every 24 hours (well 24 hours minus 4 minutes ish).

Are you near compton acres? If so i can come and try and help [hinder] sometime.

James