• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Getting started

Guest Philmarriott

Guest Philmarriott

Hi guys. As some of you know im new to astronomy but want to start taking some pictures of what im seeing, but not sure where to start. Thinking of getting one of the philips webcams to get started. I know i could buy a proper camera for the eyepiece but didnt want to start spending silly money to start. Any ideas welcome :)

Guest Philmarriott

Just to add i have celestron c8-n on a eq 5 mount with the dual axis tracker. (I think ha ha) its not a goto. I already have a panasonic bridge camera but dont cannot remove the lens. I was playing with settings trying to take pictures of clusters last night which were not too bad. Still got so much to learn though so sorry if i sound like an idiot.

Phil,

You certainly don't sound like an idiot, you should see some of the questions i've asked, and still ask :)

It sounds like you are starting from a good point with regards scope and mount, which is a bonus.

You need to made a distinction, only my opinion, that inaging things in the solar system are very different from imaging things outside the solar system.

For solar system things, moon and planets mainly (ignore he sun for now),it's probably easiest to use a webcam and take high frame rate video footage (10-60 fps) then use registax to break the video into frames and then it stacks the best ones. Perfect tracking isn't so important with this as each frame is very short in duration and registax can cope with the image moving over the field of view.