• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi from a Newbie in Leicester

Toymaster

Hi all,

As you can see I've only just joined the forum having taken a look with interest.

I'm an almost complete beginner to astronomy but have a tech background, which includes working R and D and IT until retiring. I'm also a Radio Ham and mad on most things technical.

I've had a refractor telescope some 30 years ago but due to it's quality I did not get very far. Over twelve months ago I bought a Bresser spotting scope for wildlife and have just started pointing it upwards at night which has renewed my interest in Astronomy.

Now the big question is what scope to get to move forward - this is what I'm researching now.

Newtonian / Dobsonian etc...

Difficult without trying them out and / or getting some good advice, which is how I found EMS.

Cheers,

Adrian / Toymaster

Guest neil27

Hi Adrain,

welcome to EMS, I'm sure your questions will get answered fairly quickly, they are a friendly bunch here!

I would suggest though that you come along to one of the excellent meetings that are arranged all over the east midlands, where hopefully you will see both of the scopes you are interested in and can try first hand before parting with your hard earned cash.

Hope this helps,

Regards, Neil.

Guest CodnorPaul

Hi Adrian - welcome to EMS

Absolutely agree with above - get to a meeting and come have a look/chat with us, there will be various telescopes on show.  With the weather the way it is an observing meeting may be some time off but failing everything we are doing a Stargazing Live event at Wymeswold on 18th January where even if it is cloudy/raining we will have some areas indoors with scopes and members to talk to.

Hi Adrian, a warm welcome to EMS.