• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

LP I may have a result

Ibbo

I have been chasing this for the 31/2 years we have been here and I just got htis reply

Mr Ibbotson

I am now in a position to answer your enquiry.

Columns 1 to 13 have been replaced by Nottinghamshire County Council on Rutland Road as requested by the Maintenance Section of Ashfield District Council. There are currently no plans to replace the remainder on Rutland Road but these will be assessed annually for any deterioration.

The new columns which are standard throughout Nottinghamshire are 6 metre in height replacing the existing 5 metre columns to provide a better spread of light and also to minimise vandalism which has been a problem in some areas of Nottinghamshire.

You state that the existing light does intrude into your bedroom. I have noticed there are two lights located near your property, . Could you please confirm which light you refer to. If you are concerned with backward spillage there are shields which can be fitted to the lanterns. The column on West Avenue is straight forward as a shield mounted to the rear of the lantern can be fitted. The column on Rutland Road is side on to your property and the light distribution will be downwards onto the footway approaching West Avenue. Unfortunately we can't fit a shield to the side as this would block/prevent any light output and affect light levels onto the footway. A shield could be fitted to the rear of the lantern minimising some of the light.