• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi EMS

Guest Martin Hill

Guest Martin Hill

This is the first time for me on this or any other forum .

I'm a 57 year old divorce and family lawyer working from home in Market harborough and I'm also a hypnotherapist /past life therapist .

I have owned a telescope since I was about 5 and every time I hear the Beatles song "Penny Lane " it brings back memories of cold evenings watching the sky with  2 inch refractor in the 1960's.

I presently have a Meade 12 inch Schmidt Cassegrain which Ive really not used enough so thats on ebay for sale now. I had decided to replace it with a 14inch dob . Skywatcher seeemed like the right choice untill yesterday when Icame across a company called Explorer Scientific who have recently introduced what they call an Ultralight Dobsonian . The thing looks impressive as does the price and weight . Problem is I cannot find any reviews of them . They are german made which is somewhat reassuring but I wondes if anyone has any experience of them ?

Hi Martin, welcome aboard. I can't help you with you dob but someone will be along soon I'm sure.

Hi Martin, welcome to the forum, not a Dob man so can't help you with the ES Dob  :)

Guest devil74

Hi Martin and welcome to EMS :)

So your going for a 14" dob then...nice.

Without having looked at the ES dob I can't comment on it really but the thing that springs to mind is size. Will you primarily be stargazing from home or taking it elsewhere?

It's just a consideration, portability is a big factor with dobs. Saying that Kim brought a 16" Lightbridge not too long ago...and he's from jurassic era! :)

Hello from me.

I used to live just down the road from harborough, in kibworth. Haven't been that way for a while.

Welcome to EMS

Hi Martin, a warm welcome to EMS.