• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Guest clairec

Guest clairec

Hello,

My name is Claire, i am 30 years old and always had a fascination with the stars and galaxy. My partner (Anthony 31 years old) and I would like to become involved in a stargazing group however we are complete beginners and do not own a telescope or anything. Our interest has arisen from taking walks/camping and gazing up at the night sky, but that is as far as it goes. Would this group be something that is a good starting point or is it for people who actually know what they are doing??

Thanks,

Claire

Guest fondofchips

Hi Claire & Anthony, welcome to EMS.

Beginners are welcome, only been doing stargazing for 18 months myself, you will get a lot of help & advice from the very friendly members of EMS.

Clear Skies.

Harry.

Guest VikN46

Hi and welcome to EMS,

Its definitely a forum for everyone and they are friendly bunch too, so ask away and someone will be able to offer advice and help where needed!

Vicky :)

welcome

yes i was a beginner not so long ago.  but you should also look for a local astronomical society too, as they will have regular meets even if the

weather is poor.  I am sure someone will point you in the direction of one where you are.  We get together when the weather is clear, which

has not been very often of late :(

Sheila

Hi welcome aboard from a former wooly back! Come along to a meet next time ones on, and have a look what's about. We're a friendly bunch who are happy to help. Enjoy the forum.

Guest Tweedledum

Hi Claire,