• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Flocking Hell!

catman161

Just finished flocking my 200p with the DC fix stuff from Wilkinsons. Man it took way longer than I thought it would. I am no expert but I think as a material for darkening the OTA it is pretty good, certainly an improvement on the grey paint that came with. I flocked the entire OTA in (annoyingly) 3 pieces. I say annoyingly as the two large pieces were only 4inches short of the full length of the OTA but hey what can ya do. I also went crazy for a few seconds when i had to unstick a section an i pulled a little too hard and teared the material down the middle forcing me to jump in the car and go and buy more!I also flocked the focuser tube.

Just needs collimating now. Hopefully Kim may be kind enough to let me borrow his Hotech ;). I have already asked him so that wasn't a blatant hint! That is also on my shopping list,in fact that list seems to be never ending! First image is before and second image is after. I know the second (flocked) image it looks grey however was just the light I assure you it is very black :).

Felix

Nice job Felix - if you'd like to bring it up to the house you can collimate it over a cuppa one evening this week. I'd like to see your flocked tube cos I'm on the verge of stripping the 300P down for flocking. I'll likely do it this weekend coming so would be nice to have a natter about it :)

Nice job Not as difficult as it seems is it?

I guess not but it was rather frustrating though! Quite satisfying once finished though :)

Nice job Felix - if you'd like to bring it up to the house you can collimate it over a cuppa one evening this week. I'd like to see your flocked tube cos I'm on the verge of stripping the 300P down for flocking. I'll likely do it this weekend coming so would be nice to have a natter about it