• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Setting up finderscope

Guest kiaratrak

Guest kiaratrak

Hi everyone. I'm new to this with a cellestron nexstar 130 slt. Ive read the finderscope needs to be alligned and i understand how to do it. My question relates to how to look through it. The manual says both eyes open so one eye looks through the scope and the other looks at the object. How close should my head be to the scope? I presume it's with head tilted to the side i do this. It's probably a stupid question but i want to get it right because obviously the changing position of my head relates to the positioning of the red dot. Also would you recommend doing this in daylight or night? Thanks Kiara

Hi Kiara,

Most red dot finders have a bright enough setting to use in daylight, and maybe yours has a dimmer control. Set it dimmer at night and brightest in the day. It is usually easier to align the finder in daylight or at dusk, but you need a fairly distant object like a church steeple or something at least a few hundred yards away. Your eye needs to be along the line of the scope looking straight through the finder maybe a few inches back from the finder, so your cheek will usually be quite close to the scope tube. Get the object ( steeple, chimney or a bright star at night ) positioned centrally in the telescope eyepiece first using your lowest power wide angle eyepiece. Takes a bit of fiddling until you're used to it. Then use the adjustment dials on the finder to position the dot on the same object and your aligned. Using both eyes is easier since one eye will see the object in the finder while the other sees a wider view. Then you are set to get your 2 star alignment done by finding and accurately positioning the scope on the relevant alignment stars.