• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

cant decide !

Guest flames UK

Guest flames UK

im going to add a few bits to my set up this weekend and any thoughts would be much appreciated

telrad or errect image 90 9x50 ?????? cant decide on a finder

also going to purchase a nebula filter but unsure what to get , is there a best all round filter ?

i have an 8" skywatcher dob

any input would be great help

I personally prefer the telrad.

Very easy to use and there are charts that help with star hopping.

Not sure about the filter so will leave that to someone more knowledgeable.

Guest flames UK

Cheers mate , im pretty new to this and just finding my way . Would it be a good idea to have telrad and finder ? Or would it make the dob top heavy , they look quite beefy

There are people who use both.

You would require a balance weight i would think.

The telrad is quite chunky but is very light.

There will be many more answers for you as more members log in.

Welcome to EMS, the friendly bunch :)

Guest flames UK

Thanks John , I do like the look of telrad . The forum is great , some people on here have amazing knowledge and are most friendly , thanks for the info 😃

I'm sure you can have both. But if you start adding big heavy eyepieces into the equation and cameras etc then you're looking at getting some sort of fairly large magnet to put on bottom of OTA to counterbalance.

Daz type R has both telrad and RACI 9x50 finder scope and uses a Hyperion mark 3 zoom lense (fairly heavy) he's worth asking if he needs to use counterweight. Same scope as us 200P.

Have you flocked yours yet? That's definitely worth doing.

Felix

Cheers felix , was lookin at the flocking material , does it make a good difference ? I do have a bit of pollution from street lights