• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Hi all

Guest paul j

Hi all, im paul and im from scunthorpe, im fairly new to astronomy only had a set up around a year now,i sort of started my hobbie backwards and went straight into astrophotography,its a struggle but im slowly getting there,i hoping this sites members can help in times of need with my 101 questions :-) ive built a small astro shed to house my celestron c8 in, its guided by a altair 10x60 scope with a qhy5 camera and my eq5 goto mount,i have two desktops pcs in there one controlling starry night pro and the guiding and my other purely to focus on the imaging.my astro shed is nothing special but it does the job its got part roll of roof and other half flip, after crimbo im building a extenstion on the end and use that as a warm room for my pcs and extra comfort,it sure gets chilly.

Hi Paul and a warm welcome to EMS :)

Glad to have you with us and it looks like a very nice setup you have there - my other half flips as well - usually when I'm spending money on astro gear lol.

Feel free to ask any questions you like - we have a wide spread of experience amongst our members including several pretty hot imagers who'll be only to pleased to help.

Hope you enjoy our forum :)

lol, i know the feeling about the other half flipping,i tend to send my parcels now to parents or friends, the little ones come to me :-) i remember going to buy the c8 at rother valley and the mrs decided to come for a ride lol.i was trying to get the man behind the counter to understand about the price, i said how much 145 yeah ok i have it thanks, he said yeah i go get you one, i actually walked out the shop got away with it until wife found the reciept :-/ it was the focal reducer that she couldnt believe the price of.as with all astro gear its expensive

thanks

Hi Paul, welcome to EMS.