• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New Telescope

Guest CodnorPaul

Guest CodnorPaul

Right - after having a 5" reflector for a while I want something a little (lot) better.  Budget about £1K and was thinking of a 10" SkyWatcher Flextube with SynScan Dobsonian, wanting to look at DSOs and planets.  As you guys are the experts I thought I would ask your opinion - any advice would be gratefully received!

I'm no expert but if you had £1000 to spend then you could do a lot better than a GOTO dob!

GOTO dobs have horrible backlash, not the best IMO.

Are you looking to get into astrophotography at all or just visual, as your answer will affect the outcome.

Tell me about it.

Reflectors are good for DSO's, the bigger the better, refractors are better for planets and stars etc.

If you get a big reflector around the F5,F6 range, that should suit you for both.

For a £1000 though, most of your cash would be spent on a mount, NEQ6 goes for approximate £900, leaves nothing for the OTA.

Or you could get a 12" dob for approximate the same cash, but that would have no GOTO.

The choice is yours, but I would wait for other people's advice other than just mine.

Edited by Daz Type-R

You could go for an NEQ6 Pro second hand? That's what I did. Saying that you could get the OTA second hand also-Just a question of waiting for the right deal. Plus the time you spend waiting you can save more for other things you will "need" :) check out astro buy sell uk

If you want DSO's ,then this would do nicely. 

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-300p-flextube-dobsonian.html

It would leave you some cash for a light shroud.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dew-prevention/astrozap-light-shroud-for-skywatcher-flextube.html

And then a decent eyepiece.