• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

New telescope Sky watcher Explorer ...any opinions ?

Guest nightingale

Guest nightingale

I bought this new one just yesterday and is yet to arrive tomorrow. Is anyone using this ? I have 7 days to return if get some negatives comments as I have seen 2-3 good customer  web  reviews  about this piece of equipment . I am rather new in this field and was willing to spend £250 ...(kind of , but have spent more ), I opted out of DOB skyliner due to the size .  This also comes with   magnifying eye pieces  and that 2X  Barlow lens .Please advice ...

This is what I bought :

Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P SupaTrak AUTO Parabolic Newtonian Reflector 
1x Sky-Watcher UltraWide 6mm Eyepiece 
1x Tal Moon Filter

this is the scope and mount i started off with, to be honest it was a great little thing, very easy to use and light to handle, should serve you well.

same scope as in my aviatar on the left.

Edited by red dwalf

Guest nightingale

AHA ....Rob ...that is the best I have heard !! looks a good piece of stuff there .....nice ! thanks as I am a bit nervous really . It comes home tomorrow. I shall keep you updated on how I cope . 

nightingale