• Join the online East Midlands astronomy club today!

With active forums, two dark sites and a knowledgeable membership, East Midlands Stargazers has something for everyone.

Beginners telescope

wobby83

Hi all I'm wanting to get started stargazing ASAP , I'm after a telescope that would suite me as a beginner but that of decent quality , please pm me, thanks

I'm new to this too and the advice the experienced guys on here gave Me was to start off with a set of binoculars to learn to navigate the night sky first. Was very good advice. I use celestron skymaster 15x70 binoculars they have helped me know end in learning the major constellations.

I also now have a skywatcher 200p Dobsonian,however I think if I had gone for a scope first I would have ended up pointing it aimlessly around the sky not knowing what I was looking at and become disinterested in the hobby.

That's just my personal opinion/experience,it may not be transferable to all. Obviously I am going to recommend the Skywatcher 200p :) I am biased though!

Knowing your budget would be useful but Felix' advice is good. Many rush into buying their first scope thinking it's the only way to stargaze.

Guest Tweedledum

I would echo Felix a pair of binos and a good guide to the sky (Turn Left At Orion / Pocket Star Atlas) is a great start, also these are bits you will keep rather than a sterter telescope that you will soon grow out of.

The next best thing to do is to come along to a observing session at one of the dark sites and see what others have and what may suit you best.

Cheers

I would echo Felix a pair of binos and a good guide to the sky (Turn Left At Orion / Pocket Star Atlas) is a great start, also these are bits you will keep rather than a sterter telescope that you will soon grow out of.

The next best thing to do is to come along to a observing session at one of the dark sites and see what others have and what may suit you best.

Cheers